Miss All Sunday

And there seems to be no sign of intelligent life anywhere

Google Analytics hacked

google hacked

Or so it seems... this past months I've been getting a very unusual references, all of them has the same text:

Secret.ɢoogle.com You are invited! Enter only with this ticket URL. Copy it. Vote for Trump!

Google it and apparently some Russian dude decided it will be hilarious to spam that message for apparently no reason so I just ignore it.

But! in the past week or so things got worst, I know get fake references from reddit, thenextweb, addons.mozilla  and a bunch of random .xyz domains.

It seems this kind of spam has been around for some time now and google has made no attempt to mitigate it, instead, the answer lots of "google gurus" give is to apply a filter:  www.en.advertisercommunity.com/t5/Google-Analytics-Referral-Spam/Tracking-as-Vote-for-Trump/td-p/860785

BTW, I did apply a filter when I was targeted by the free-share-buttons crap  and it was pretty cumbersome to do so, so much that I do not have any intention to repeat that process again.

Anyway, while this is still tolerable I surely hope they somehow manage to stop this.

I'm also curious to know if google tracks this kind of blog posts, do they have something to detect "google bashing" and treat that page differently? Its a rather nice example of conflict of interest, after all, they are a private corp with absolutely no obligation to serve accurate, "unfiltered" results.

Last edited by Suki reason: add compressed image on 3 Apr 2017, 10:08 am